Why I Write About Geopolitics

Jonathan Stephen Harry Riley
2 min readJul 4, 2024

For today’s article, I will discuss why I write about geopolitics and other related topics within that genre of writing.

As a writer on Medium and other online platforms, I strive to create content that resonates with readers who share my interest in politics, history, and the intricate world of geopolitics.

Geopolitics, a discipline that I find particularly compelling, is about understanding how geography shapes nation-states and civilisations' political and military actions.

A great example is the north-south divide in China’s sophisticated river network and natural geographical barriers, which divide China into two.

The Qin Mountains chain consists of a high and rugged barrier extending from Gansu to Henan; geographers use a line between the chain and the Huai River to divide China proper into two parts—north and South.

In its long history, China has been divided between the North and South, and due to the natural defences of the Qin Mountains, it is very hard for the northern and southern states to conquer the whole of China.

Though repeatedly in China’s long history, it has typically been reunited by the North conquering the South.

The geographical divides within China heavily influence the Chinese version of the game chess.

Xiangqi Chinese Chess Set

--

--

Jonathan Stephen Harry Riley

I have been writing from 2014 to the present day; my writing is focused on history, politics, culture, geopolitics and other related topics.